Whether or not you have celiac disease, you may still be concerned with the amount of gluten you consume on a day-to-day basis. One of the most empowering things we can do for ourselves is to control our health and diet. Plus, it’s said that a diet heavy in gluten can cause abdominal pain, headaches, lethargy, and skin problems. And no one can blame you for trying to live a cleaner, healthier life.

What is Gluten?

You may hear the term “gluten” a lot. It may be well known that gluten is found in wheat and that people with gluten allergies have to eliminate quite a few things from their diet to avoid it. But what is gluten, anyway?

Gluten is a group of proteins commonly found in cereal grains like wheat, barley, oats, rye, and spelt. Gluten comprises approximately 75-85% of the total protein in bread wheat, so if you’re allergic to the substance, it stands to reason that you’ll have a strong reaction to consuming something like bread. But bread is the most prolific and obvious source of gluten and, because of that, it’s the easiest one to avoid. Many innocuous things we consume also contain gluten without us even knowing. And if you’re trying to stay away from the substance, then it may come as a surprise that it might still be a daily part of your eating. Gluten can be found in the unlikeliest of places like sauces, processed meats, and even beverages.

Do Beverages Really Contain Gluten?

Unfortunately, gluten is a pervasive and sometimes hidden substance. Even more so is the fact that there is most often not a requirement to label it. It’s easy to assume most beverages don’t contain gluten. Beer, on the other hand, is full of the stuff because it’s most often brewed using cereal grains. For that reason, it’s best to avoid beer consumption if you’re trying to live without gluten.

Beverages made from fruit juice, sugar, water, and natural flavorings seem relatively straight forward and might make you rest easy that that bottle of soda or fizzy fruit juice is the perfect refreshment to complement your GF lifestyle. But you should always look further, and be wary. Many soft drinks use caramel coloring in their beverages. While it’s typically uncommon in North America, caramel coloring can be made using a wheat base, which will indeed contain gluten.

What Should I Drink Instead of Soda and Juice?

It’s no surprise to anyone that both soda and juice consumed in large quantities are unhealthy beverage choices. Even if their caramel coloring is derived using a wheat-free process, they’re still loaded with unhealthy sugars and actively work against your hydration. Who wants to drink something that leaves us feeling bloated and isn’t effectively hydrating us? Yet, a lot of us need something more than water to quench our thirst. Luckily, there are still healthy alternatives that have zero sugar, still taste great, and are gluten-free.

Sparkling Water is a Healthy Choice for Everyone

If you’re not a fan of water but don’t want to be weighed down by sugary beverages, then sparkling water may be the beverage you’ve been looking for this whole time. Many are lightly flavored, giving you a hint of fruit flavor to excite your taste buds. But at its essence, sparkling water will keep you sufficiently hydrated.

Crystal Geyser Water Company was founded in 1977 and for more than 40 years we’ve committed to providing a pure and healthy source of sparkling mineral and spring water. Our products are bottled in the United States, so our sparkling flavored water isn’t just free of gluten—it’s the best sparkling water, lightly flavored, and bottled in Calistoga.

Our founders consulted geological surveys, water maps, and even went on foot to find a source of water they thought was pure enough to bottle. And that high penchant for quality hasn’t changed.

Gluten-Free & Guilt-Free

We’ve created a line of sparkling flavors that are naturally gluten-free and a perfect accompaniment to a gluten intolerant diet. But most of all, we make a sparkling water that elevates everyday moments. Our founders discovered perfection when they started bottling Crystal Geyser Sparkling Water and we’ve continued that tradition ever since.

 

 ,